Robert Carrington - Composer

Work in Hand 2014 - 2022


Conceived for musical friends in West Sussex, there are some new vocal works:

    Pleasures for 2 sopranos and bass viol, based on a poem by Brecht

    Jugend-Bildnis meines Vaters (poem by Rilke) for alto, clarinet and 3 viols

    Seek him that maketh the seven stars (the Book of Amos) for 2 sopranos, alto and Ensemble

     Midnight (poem by Sally Morris) for alto and solo oboe

    Mid Autumn Festival (Chinese calligraphy text) for soprano, alto, flute and clarinet

    What am I to do with Bradshaw`s Windmill? For S A T B Chorus

    Three Shakespeare Songs from “The Tempest” for bass soloGreetings to the Winter Solstice for 2 sopranos and alto

    Interlude for Signor Leopardi for 2 sopranos and alto

    A LEOPARDI SEQUENCE for S AT B Choir and Brass Band

    23 Short pieces for Choir and Brass Soloists

    The Muse of Euphony for 2 euphoniums

    Calls for Giacomo for 2 trombones

    Newport Hymn for 2 cornets, euphonium and trombone

    Mr Burgin, His Pavan and Galliard for solo tenor viol (with optional recorder/lute)

    Tilling the Earth, for Brass Quartet

    Two for Ursula for 2 sopranos and alto

    2 Rilke Songs for soprano and violin

    "Lines written in Early Spring" (Wordsworth) for soprano, flute, violin and bass viol/harp

    From a dream”  (my text) for S A T B choir plus optional instruments



RITUAL FOR DAVID JONES is conceived as a late night performance like a type of Compline in a bare, candlelit church. It is possible to project the inscriptions on to a white-washed wall. The audience will have the texts and translations in their programmes. Because of the nature of the inscriptions and their brevity, the idea grew to perform them from different parts of the performance space as a kind of musical graffiti wall where the music comes from different directions. It is in 4 movements: separated by a short pause. The duration is approximately 20 minutes.

View an excerpt from the score and hear a midi file here.

RITUAL FOR DAVID JONES is awaiting a performance and has a relevance to the ongoing commemoration of the 1st World War.

Other new completed works include QUATRE CALLIGRAMMES based on the poetry of Guillaume Apollinaire. This is set in French and is scored for soprano and 3 viols. An instrumental work for Haruki Murakami “Mr Ushikawa: His Speculations” is scored for 2 bass viols and harpsichord.

2016 also sees the premiere of THREE ANAGRAMS FOR CHRISTOPHER TYE” for the Pastores Ensemble’s  WESTERN WYNDE tour.

MOTET: UBI CARITAS for soprano and ensemble (lute, mandola and viols)

For 2017, I was asked to write a celebratory piece for St Laurence’s Church, Falmer Village. I was asked to set the UBI CARITAS text. This would be for soprano and the Pastores Ensemble (our Early Music Ensemble). The result was a short Motet for voices and instruments. The opening motif lead to a setting of the Gloria of the Mass and subsequently a whole Mass grew out of the Motet and this single movement. The idea developed to create a PORTSLADE MASS for where I live near Brighton and to dedicate the movements to various individuals or groups that enrich our local life:

1. Kyrie (to Scottish John and his wife)
2. Gloria (to Girts and Helga Logins)  
3. Credo (to St Nicholas Church, Portslade Old Village) 
4. Sanctus and Benedictus (to Roberto Figueira of the MADEIRA CAFÉ)    
5. Agnus Dei (to the Purple People Kitchen Food Bank)
‘Disturb us Lord’ for 2 altos and mixed chamber ensemble. 1st performance: Convent of the Poor Clares, Arundel, December 2018.

Robert Carrington, Portslade 16tth December 2018


Mass Score 

3 BUDDHA PIECES with texts by Rilke for SATB CHOIR, 2 French Horns, tenor and bass trombone

Mass Score

Meetings in Reading have led to various collaborations:

  • “The Old Lie” combines music for flute, clarinet and viols with projected lino cut images by Dr Denis May, based on poems by Wilfred Owen.
  • “Between the Lines” is a setting of 10 poems by Kate Behrens for soprano and 3 viols. The songs are to be performed in 2 sets.
  • “As it happened” is an Air for solo violin and the 1st in a series of solo instrumental and chamber music pieces
[Home] [Sound Bytes] [Carrington] [Work in Hand] [Contact and Links]

This site has been designed and built by TNGServices Ltd .  Version 0105 11/05/22 . Contact webmaster .